Computer labs - Windows
- See also computer labs Linux.
There are about 80 computer labs spread out on our campuses. They are available to all students. A few computer labs have restricted access due to specific software on the computers.
Please respect the rules for the computer labs. It’s your space; take care of it!
Student technicians are available for service and support in the computer labs. More information about student technicians is available here.
Using your own computer
Use your own laptop computer to surf the Internet via the university system. Printouts from your own computer is possible through the LiU printing system.
Rules and help in the computer lab
- No food or drink in the computer lab.
- Always lock the computerKeyboard shortcut: Win + L
It takes up to 75 minutes until you are logged out when leaving the computer locked. Temporarily leaving the computer unlocked enables others to use your account. If they perform illegal actions you are the one that is held responsible. They are also able to delete your files when you are logged in.
- Printouts left behind in the computer lab will be removed on a regular basis.
- Information on where the nearest printer is located is available in every computer lab.
- Lost and found.
Error report and support
Is the printer e.g. out of toner or paper or are there other issues? Contact the IT Helpdesk:
- Fill in the form here
- Telephone: 013-28 58 98
Windows computer labs and available software
Maximize the window for best overview over what software that is available where.
You can find a majority of the computer labs using the LiU map (do a search in the location field).
Translations for the table below:
'Mjukvaror' = softwares.
'Salar' = computer labs.
'Alla' = (show) all.
'Sök' = search.
Local directory for large files
The computer rooms on all campuses offer the possibility of storing large amounts of data and large files in a temporary directory, through a link on the desktop: Local disk (TEMP).
As the name implies, this storage is temporary and all data can be deleted at any time (between logged-in sessions). The data will not be transferred to another computer.
The storage is intended for data used by software that carries out, for example, heavy calculations or other demanding file-access operations.
It is your responsibility to copy all important data to Fillagret (X:) before logging out.
Last updated: 2021-01-19